Skip Ribbon Commands
Skip to main content

 Lima Adaptation Knowledge Initiative


​​​​​​The Lima Adaptation Knowledge Initiative (LAKI) is a joint action pledge under the Nairobi work programme between the UNFCCC Secretariat and UN Environment through its Global Adaptation Network (GAN). Priority-setting workshops are convened with multi-stakeholder expert groups to identify, categorize, and prioritize climate change adaptation knowledge gaps for specific subregions and sectors/themes (see methodology be​low). The LAKI then works with global and subregional partners to catalyze activities to bridge these knowledge gaps.​ In 2018, Parties to the UNFCCC welcomed the next phase of the LAKI (FCCC/SBSTA/2018/4) which aims to narrow the 85 knowledge gaps identified and scale up the LAKI to new subregions. Initial activities are underway and the LAKI is currently seeking partners to support the further implementation of the initiative.​​

Closing adaptation knowledge gaps


In its pilot phase, the LAKI identified a total of 85 priority adaptation knowledge gaps across six subregions: Andean, West Asia/Gulf Cooperation Council (GCC), North Africa, Southern Africa, Indian Ocean islands, and Hindu Kush Himalayan. The gaps are categorized by theme and by type, specifically [1] lack of data, [2] lack of access to data, [3] lack of actionable knowledge,and/or [4] lack of tools and methods to process knowledge into an actionable form. Browse the subregions below to learn about the priority knowledge gaps for each one as well as LAKI activities or opportunities to bridge these gaps.

Further links: